Friday, April 06, 2012

XLRI degree day with India Inc.

From The Telegraph

XLRI, Jamshedpur, hosted its 56th annual convocation at Tata Auditorium on Wednesday, officially conferring post-graduate diplomas on 257 smiling faces.
Students of business management as well as personnel management and industrial relations — shortened to BM and PM&IR by everyone — numbering 235, three of fellow programmes in management and 19 from the Dubai campus, got certificates as well as business sustainability tips from invited stalwarts. 

Infosys founder and chairman emeritus N.R. Narayana Murthy as well as Standard Chartered Bank group executive director and CEO (Asia) Jaspal Singh Bindra addressed the outgoing batch of cub managers.
Corporate legend Murthy also received the 46th presentation of Sir Jehangir Medal for Industrial and Social Peace. 

“On behalf of about 140,000 Infosians, I receive this honour with much gratitude. I will try to work harder and smarter. In the last three decades, I have learnt many lessons that includes openness to new ideas, meritocracy and excellence in execution. The barrier for success is generally within one’s self, generally between the mind and the mindset,” said Murthy to resounding applause. 

He added that the mind should triumph over mindset, giving birth to new and efficient ways of working.
“Even though your schooling is over, your education continues. From my experience, I have learnt that you have to keep jumping to identify and take the right opportunities in life,” Bindra said in a lively address peppered with many anecdotes from his life. 

“Just work as a leader, don’t work out of fear,” added Bindra.

Also present were Tata Steel managing director and XLRI board of governors chairman H.M. Nerurkar and XLRI director Father E. Abraham, other board and faculty members, students and their parents.

Students also came for their share of the spotlight.

The XLRI medal for best all-rounder went to Deepanjan Deb and best all rounder (woman) went to Neeti Kumar.

In the BM, the first five toppers were Siddhartha Saran, Aadith Raman, Aniruddh Vallabh Kamat, Shambhavi and Sunny Suresh Shahadadpuri.

Their PM&IR counterparts were Kakunuri Bhargavi, Meenakshi Narayanan, Manan Deepak Shah, Sameer Kumar Agrawal and Prateek Rungta.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails